avios and tier points miles mogul blog

The British Airways Executive Club (BAEC) has two types of points, Avios, and Tier Points. Confused? Here’s an explanation with a little help from our friends at BA:

AVIOS - For spending on rewards

  • Avios are collected on flights with British Airways and oneworld airlines as well as a on wide range of other purchases.

  • These are the points that are earned on some credit cards, through Tesco Clubcard and TopCashBack.

  • Avios can be spent on flights and upgrades.

  • Avios can be bought and shared.

  • Avios expire only if your balance is inactive for three years.


TIER POINTS - For moving through the tiers of the club

  • You earn Tier Points by flying with British Airways and their oneworld airline partners (including American Airlines, Qantas, Cathay Pacific, Iberia and Qatar).

  • The number you earn depends on your ticket type and fare class — in general, you’ll earn more on longer flights in premium cabins and on flexible fares

  • Unlike Avios, Tier Points cannot be bought, shared or spent — their sole purpose is to move you through the tiers of the Club

  • Tier Points are reset to zero at the end of your membership year which is the anniversary of the date you joined the Club

  • All the Tier Points you've earned as a member of the Club count towards your Lifetime Tier Points total, for more recognition and rewards.

The Tiers:

BRONZE - 300 Tier Points

SILVER - 600 Tier Points (SILVER is where you want to get to for what I think are the most valuable benefits -  free seat selection at the time of booking AND  Business Class lounge access regardless of class you’re travelling in)

GOLD - 1500 Tier Points